Land mines

My mind can be a battlefield. I can get lost in irrational thoughts and dig myself into holes of what if. These land-mines are typically triggered at times where I allow shame, guilt, stress,failure, insecurity, pride, and perfectionism run my thoughts. I have been blessed with people in my life that speak Truth and counsel me into recognizing these triggers. When I can call out these out, I begin to take control of my own thoughts.

Over the last few weeks, I have begun working on transforming my mind. Taking control of my thoughts. Seeking counsel. Asking for accountability. It has allowed me to find joy in the present and not get lost or further in a hole of shame or insecurity. Which leads me into 2017.

We are about to enter into 2017 and this time of year is bombarded with resolutions and goals that we hope to fulfill just like the last year. We know the statistics, most of us will buy the gym membership and by April it will sit on the kitchen counter. We will be more intentional with our families and put the phone down, until that busy season at work then we are right back to eating dinner while checking e-mails. We will give money to the church, but then something comes up and you are struggling to stay afloat. I won’t lie; I have made these resolutions. I told myself that I failed and beat myself up for not following through. However, this year is going to be different. (I know, again something we say each year, but really.)

This year I am not going to make resolutions. I want to live life and make choices for me. If  I  make mistakes that is okay, I’m not going to beat myself up for it. *That whole part at the beginning.* What I am planning for isn’t just for the year, but the rest of my life. The journey of life and the journey of others is where I find joy, so that is where I want to be. 2017 just so happens to be when these all came into fruition.

Let’s see how this goes. Here we go!

Leave a Reply

