Take time

Nothing is better than taking a little time for yourself. I know that I am a person that likes to do for others before myself. It is not a bad thing, but I also know I can let myself go worrying about everyone else. The last couple of days I have tried to be a balance of both and I am relearning the things that really light up my soul.

Cracking open a new book and getting lost in the pages, nothing like it. I enjoy reading and find that it allows me to escape into a new world, or if I go the more nonfiction route self improvement. When I get bogged down and really only open a book to make myself fall asleep, I get nothing out of it. However, I started reading a book called ” Ghostland an American History in Haunted Places” and it is pretty good. I am a skeptic among the supernatural world of ghosts, but enjoy the thoughts that are brought out in the book. It again allows me to escape, no longer worrying about what is going on outside of the story.

Any type of crafting or getting to create something with my hands just brings a calming over me. This weekend I sat down with my 2 and a half year old niece and got the paints out. She had her own thing going on (lots of blue paint and a shirt that had to be tossed) but I sat with her and did two wall clings that I had been hoping to do for awhile. My heart filled with joy as I spent time with my favorite person in this world and painted. It also was super cheap, which is also makes my heart happy! 🙂

Lastly, I have been enjoying my rides into work each morning watching the sun rise. One thing I absolutely hate about daylights saving time and winter is that it is dark when I leave for work and dark when I get home from work. This week however, the sun has started to rise as I leave for work. Pinks, purples, oranges, yellows, and blues light up the sky and it is a beautiful masterpiece. It gives me the jolt of energy I need in the morning on my 45 minute drive. I am reminded that God has a plan for this place and that He is in control. Thankful for the view.

With all of that I am finding that I am getting motivated. I am taking little moments to myself and getting lost in the things that give me life. What are those things for you? How do you carve out time for you?

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

