Memory

Prompt this week: Share a childhood memory.

When looking back on my childhood there are so many memories that rush to the forefront. Some of them good and some of them not so good, but memories none the less. They make us who we are today.

Of all the memories, this one I actually was thinking about this morning on my drive to work. It cracks me up. Hopefully you get a kick out of it too.

I was probably 8 or 9 years old and some friends from down the street were over at my house, playing. We were in the backyard and someone must have mentioned “smoking grass”. I had watched my dad roll cigarettes (yes, actual cigarettes) may times so I thought this should be easy. We snuck one of my dad’s lighters out of the house and the closes thing to rolling papers we thought to use was toilet paper. Yeah, toilet paper.

My friends and I were at the far corner of our yard and they had gotten grass clippings from our yard to put into the toilet paper. We then rolled the grass in the toilet paper and  made a makeshift “joint” and began to “smoke” it. The toilet paper caught fire, the grass clippings just fell out. We thought we were cool, but we were just curious kids trying to reenact what we had seen on tv or something. We realized pretty quick that we did not think it was any fun so we moved on to more fun games and adventures.

This memory from my childhood cracks me up, but also makes me aware of how much children are watching and taking in. It is crazy!

What is a memory that you have from your childhood?

Until next time….

Leave a Reply

